Readout of the December National Climate Task Force Meeting

Published: Thu Dec 09 2021

Following COP26 and the President's signing of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, the National Task Force launches new Federal Sustainability Plan to lead by example across procurement and operations

Today, National Climate Advisor Gina McCarthy convened the National Climate Task Force with Cabinet members and senior leadership from across the Biden-Harris Administration. This meeting followed on President Biden's signing today of an Executive Order on Catalyzing Clean Energy Industries and Jobs Through Federal Sustainability, which directs the federal government to use its scale and procurement power to achieve five new, ambitious goals on carbon pollution-free electricity, zero-emission vehicle acquisitions, Buy Clean policies, net-zero emissions buildings, and net-zero emissions from overall federal operations. The Task Force discussed the accompanying Federal Sustainability Plan, which agencies are implementing to achieve these five goals, bolster climate resilience, and advance equity and environmental justice across operations planning and decision making.

The Task Force was also joined by White House Senior Advisor and Infrastructure Implementation Coordinator Mitch Landrieu, who provided an update on ensuring clean energy, resilience, and environmental justice are woven throughout the implementation of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, including advancing priorities such as the Justice40 Initiative.

Task Force members then discussed ongoing work on implementation of the U.S. Methane Emissions Reduction Action Plan; development of a Justice40 Scorecard; and interagency collaboration on areas including fuel efficiency and vehicle emissions standards, clean energy deployment, and climate resilience.

The meeting also follows the COP26 U.N. Climate Change Conference, attended by a U.S. delegation including President Biden, twelve Cabinet members and senior Administration officials, members of Congress, and leaders from across states, territories, Tribal Nations, and local governments. Throughout COP26, this delegation strengthened global partnerships and highlighted how the President's Bipartisan Infrastructure Law and Build Back Better Act will enable us to meet our commitment to reduce U.S. emissions by 50-52% from 2005 levels in 2030.

As outlined by President Biden's January 27 Executive Order on Tackling the Climate Crisis at Home and Abroad, the Task Force is chaired by the National Climate Advisor and includes Cabinet-level leaders from 21 federal agencies and senior White House officials to mobilize the Biden-Harris Administration's implementation of a whole-of-government approach.

Task Force membership is comprised of the following government officials:

  • National Climate Advisor (Chair)
  • Secretary of the Treasury
  • Secretary of Defense
  • Attorney General
  • Secretary of the Interior
  • Secretary of Agriculture
  • Secretary of Commerce
  • Secretary of Education
  • Secretary of Labor
  • Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
  • Secretary of Transportation
  • Secretary of Energy
  • Secretary of Homeland Security
  • Administrator of General Services
  • Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality
  • Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency
  • Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Director of the Office of Management and Budget
  • Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Assistant to the President for Domestic Policy
  • Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs
  • Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism
  • Assistant to the President for Economic Policy

Visit website »